Thankfulness

Uncategorized

I want to be a more thankful person. In my most authentic state, I have a tendency toward brooding pessimism, but that’s not the kind of person I want to be. How can I get a better perspective? How can I cause myself to dwell on the good rather than the bad? There’s always something for which to be thankful. How can I train myself to look for the good?

It’s 85 degrees and I’m uncomfortably hot? …or it’s so great that I’m not in Death Valley.

It’s Sunday night and I don’t want to go to work tomorrow? …or I’m so grateful to have a job and that the busy month-end is over.

I don’t have enough money to buy a new blouse as I had hoped? …or I’m glad I had enough money to pay my bills.

I’m tired of my foot hurting from the car accident three years ago? …or I’m so lucky that J and I walked away from that collision with only bruises and broken bones as opposed to brain damage or worse.

I don’t have cancer. My husband is an honorable man. I have a comfortable home. I’ve never been physically or emotionally abused. Jesus loves me. My dad made it through the surgery last week. My mom has enough money in her estate to take care of her extensive financial needs.

I have so much to be thankful for. I just need to open my eyes.

Comments

